Region Explanation / Map / Boundaries

Region Map

Region Boundaries

There are 17 regions in the Open, 10 of which exist within the United States. 

Regions are pertinent only to the Individual Men, Individual Women, and Teams; Teenagers and Masters compete globally. 

Individuals and Teams must do well in their Region in the Open in order to qualify for Regionals. 


  • Southern California - South of San Luis Obispo
  • Northern California - North of San Luis Obispo, plus Hawaii
  • South West - Utah, Nevada, Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado
  • North West - Washington, Oregon, Wyoming, Idaho, Alaska, and Montana
  • South Central - Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi
  • North Central - North Dakota, South Dakota, Illinois, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Minnesota, Arkansas, Missouri, Iowa, and Wisconsin
  • Central East - Michigan, Ohio, Tennessee, Kentucky, Indiana
  • North East - Massachusetts, Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey
  • Mid Atlantic - Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina
  • South East - Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina, Florida


  • Canada West - Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba
  • Canada East - Ontario, Quebec, Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia

Beyond North America

  • Latin America - Central and South America
  • Europe - Continental Europe, U.K., Iceland, Greenland, and Russia until the Ural Mountains
  • Africa - Africa plus the Middle East
  • Asia - Russia east of the Ural Mountains, and all Asian countries east of the Caspian Sea. 
  • Australia - Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Antarctica, and some Pacific Islands


The top men, women, and teams from multiple regions combine at each Regional competition. In the map above, you can see the regions that come together to compete at the same Regional color-coded.

  • Northern California + Southern California → California Regional
  • North West + Canada West → West Regional
  • South West + South Central + Latin America → South Regional
  • North Central + Central East → Central Regional
  • Mid Atlantic + South East → Atlantic Regional
  • Canada East + North East → East Regional
  • Africa + Europe → Meridian Regional
  • Asia + Australia → Pacific Regional

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us